Whether you’re new to Lightroom or have been using it for years there are certain things you need to know in order to ensure that everything runs as smoothly and efficiently as possible. Do these properly and you can look forward to many years of hassle-free and effective Lightroom use.
Let’s start with what is probably the most important thing of all—backing up your Catalog.
HOW TO BACK UP YOUR CATALOG
Your Lightroom Catalog is essential because it’s where Lightroom stores every piece of information it has about your photos. This includes the location of your photos (i.e., where they are saved on your hard drive), metadata (such as camera settings and keywords), Lightroom specific information (like which Collections you’ve added photos to) and any edits you have made in the Develop module.
How much of a disaster would it be if you lost all this data? You can prevent it by making sure that Lightroom is set to back your Catalog up regularly.
Do this by going to Edit > Catalog Settings (Windows) or Lightroom > Catalog Settings (Mac). Go to the General tab and set Back up Catalog to Every Time Lightroom Exits.